An all new is now available

Thanks for your interest in the advancement and exchange of knowledge about traumatic stress. Click here to visit the new site.

ISTSS Leadership

ISTSS is governed by a board of directors consisting of 21 members, plus several ex-officio (non-voting) members. Each year, ISTSS holds an open election to fill expiring board terms and the President-Elect position. Individuals are elected to 3-year board terms.

Executive Committee



Ulrich Schnyder, MD

Psychiatrist and licensed psychotherapist. Professor of psychiatry and head, Department of Psychiatry, University Hospital Zurich, Switzerland. President of the International Federation for Psychotherapy (IFP). Past president of the European Society for Traumatic Stress Studies (ESTSS).




Sandro Galea, MD DrPh
Vice President

Associate professor of Epidemiology at the University of Michigan School of Public Health. Formerly associate director of the Center for Urban Epidemiologic Studies at the New York Academy of Medicine and assistant professor at the Columbia Mailman School of Public Health. Primarily interested in the social and economic production of health, particularly mental health and behavior in urban settings.

Dean Kilpatrick

Dean G. Kilpatrick, PhD

Distinguished University Professor of Clinical Psychology and Director of the National Crime Victims Research and Treatment Center, Medical University of South Carolina.  Past President, International Society of Traumatic Stress Studies.  His research focuses primarily on understanding the scope, nature, and mental health impact of exposure to potentially traumatic events among adolescents and adults as well as risk and protective factors among those who have been exposed.


Karestan C. Koenen, PhD

Assistant professor of society, human development and health and epidemiology at the Harvard School of Public Health. Research focuses on understanding the interplay of genetic and environmental factors in the etiology of posttraumatic stress disorder and other post-trauma mental disorders.  



Marylene Cloitre PhD

Founder and director of The Institute for Trauma and Stress at the NYU Child Study Center. The Cathy and Stephen Graham Professor of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry. Author of: Treating Survivors of Childhood Abuse: Psychotherapy for the Interrupted Life a developmentally sensitive and evidence-based treatment for adults which attends to restoring the emotional and social competencies often derailed by chronic early life trauma.


Patricia Resick, PhD
Past President

Patricia A. Resick, PhD, is the director of the Women’s Health Sciences Division of the National Center for PTSD at the VA Boston Healthcare System. She is a professor of psychiatry and psychology at Boston University. Dr. Resick has received grants from NIH, NIJ, CDC, SAMHSA, and VA. She developed and tested Cognitive Processing Therapy, an effective short term treatment for PTSD and corollary symptoms and has been directing a national CPT implementation program. She has published four books and over 150 journal articles and book chapters.