What's New with ISTSS

ISTSS 26th Annual Meeting - Register NOW!
Posted: Thu, 05 Aug 2010
Register today for the ISTSS Annual Meeting. Download the Preliminary Program for full meeting details.


Members - ISTSS Election: Vote NOW
Posted: Thu, 05 Aug 2010
Cast your vote electronically for ISTSS president-elect and individual board members. All votes must be received by September 10. Read more


July 2010 Issue of Traumatic StressPoints - Now Available
Posted: Thu, 22 Jul 2010
Click here to download your issue today!


Traumatic Stress in the News

Questions loom over drug given to sleepless vets
Posted: Mon, 30 Aug 2010
By MATTHEW PERRONE (AP) – 3 hours ago WASHINGTON — Andrew White returned from a nine-month tour in Iraq beset with signs of post-traumatic stress disorder: insomnia, nightmares, constant restlessness. Doctors tried to ease his symptoms u... ...

Thousands Strain Fort Hood's Mental Health System
Posted: Tue, 24 Aug 2010
By Gregg Zoroya, USA TODAY FORT HOOD, Texas — Nine months after an Army psychiatrist was charged with fatally shooting 13 soldiers and wounding 30, the nation's largest Army post can measure the toll of war in the more than 10,000 mental healt... ...

Advocates see trouble for misdiagnosed soldiers
Posted: Mon, 16 Aug 2010
By ANNE FLAHERTY (AP) – 22 hours ago WASHINGTON — At the height of the Iraq war, the Army routinely dismissed hundreds of soldiers for having a personality disorder when they were more likely suffering from the traumatic stresses of war,... ...

Continuing Education

Earn CEs conveniently online without the cost and inconvenience of travel.  Plus - members enjoy reduced rates!

For Credit Offerings:

  • Journal CE - Each issue of the Journal for Traumatic Stress Studies offers 3 continuing education credits.  Credits can be purchased by month or with a discounted subscription.
  • Recorded Pre-Meeting Institute Sessions from the 2009 Annual Meeting offered for 4 credits each. PMI-11 is eligible for Ethics credits.
  • Recorded Master Clinician Sessions (coming soon) - Several sessions were recorded at the 2009 Annual Meeting and will be available for 1.5 hours of CE credit each.

Non-Credit Offering:



ISTSS offers Public Education Pamphlets that provide a readily accessible introduction to important trauma-related issues, including:

For even more trauma-related resources for professionals, click here.



ISTSS is the world's largest professional membership organization specializing in the field of traumatic stress. It is an international, multidisciplinary organization that promotes the advancement and exchange of knowledge about severe stress and trauma. ISTSS embraces and presents perspectives across races, ethnicities, and cultures.


Moved? Changed Your E-mail?

Update your member profile - Update your directory listing if you have moved, changed your e-mail address or other contact information.

2010 Meetings

ISTSS 26th Annual Meeting

Register today for the ISTSS Annual Meeting.
Download the Preliminary Program for full meeting details.

November 4-6, 2010
Pre-Meeting Institutes Nov. 3, 2010
Le Centre Sheraton Montreal Hotel,
Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Featured Speakers
Keynote Addresses
Master Clinician Series



Journal of Traumatic StressPurchase educational pamphlets, Annual Meeting audio recordings, quizzes for JTS CE credit and more.



Browse all ISTSS products.

Other ISTSS Products

ISTSS MugCafePress
Purchase an ISTSS t-shirt, water bottle, mug, mousepad and more.

powered by Amazon ISTSS Amazon.com Bookstore Purchase books and products by other ISTSS members - Fast, safe and secure purchasing.

ISTSS Past Presidents

Patricia Resick, PhD 2008-2009
Stuart Turner, MD, MA, FRCP, FRCPsych 2007-2008
Elana Newman, PhD 2006-2007
Dean Kilpatrick, PhD 2005-2006
Barbara Rothbaum, PhD 2004-2005
Paula Schnurr, PhD 2003-2004
Onno van der Hart, PhD 2002-2003
John Briere, PhD 2001-2002
Bonnie Green, PhD 2000-2001
John Fairbank, PhD 1999-2000
Alexander McFarlane, MD 1998-1999
Sandra Bloom, MD 1997-1998
Terence M. Keane, PhD 1996-1997
Matthew J. Friedman, MD, PhD 1995-1996
Elizabeth Brett, PhD 1994-1995
Charles Marmar, MD 1993-1994
Susan Roth, PhD 1992-1993
Robert S. Pynoos, MD 1991-1992
Bessel van der Kolk, MD 1990-1991
Jacob D. Lindy, MD 1989-1990
Yael Danieli, PhD 1988-1989
John Wilson, PhD 1987-1988
Charles Figley, PhD 1985-1987