An all new ISTSS.org is now available

Thanks for your interest in the advancement and exchange of knowledge about traumatic stress. Click here to visit the new site.

Special Interest Groups (SIG)

ISTSS is a large, multidisciplinary society. Members involve themselves in ISTSS along two axes: the victim/survivor populations with which they work and the interest areas they have that span survivor groups in scope.

A complete list of victim/survivor population groups and interest areas is included on the membership application. In addition, ISTSS maintains an active committee structure that allows members hands-on participation in program development and implementation.

Questions about SIGs? Or, would you like to create a new SIG? Contact SIG chair, Mylea Charvat.

 

Child Trauma
Marianne Kabour
Pacific Graduate School of Psychology
1910 Briarwood Dr
Santa Clara, CA 95051
(650) 793-1149
mkabour@pgsp.edu 


Child Trauma SIG Web page
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered Issues
Elisa Triffleman, MD
The Public Health Institute
242 Clorinda Ave.
San Rafael, CA 94901
E-mail: elisatriffleman@earthlink.net

Complex Trauma
Pamela Alexander, PhD
Wellesley Centers for Women
106 Central Street
Wellesley, MA 02481
Work: 781-283-2512
E-mail: palexand@wellesley.edu

New! Complex Trauma SIG Web page


Media
Cait McMahon
Dart Centre Australasia
P.O.Box 580
Elwood VIC. 3184
AUSTRALIA
Work : +61 (0) 419131947
E-mail: caitm@optusnet.com.au

Patrice Keats, PhD
Simon Fraser Univ
15-760, 13450 102 Ave
Surrey, BC V3T 0A3
CANADA
Work: (778) 782-7604
E-mail: pkeats@sfu.ca

Media SIG Web page

Creative, Body, Energy Therapies
David Read Johnson, PhD
Co-Director
Post Traumatic Stress Center
19 Edwards St.
New Haven, CT 06511
hadardavid@aol.com

Amber Elizabeth Gray
Restorative Resources Training & Consulting
303-709-3640
E-mail: amber@ecentral.com


Military
Cmdr. Beverly Ann Dexter, PhD
Psychology Department
Naval Medical Center Portsmouth
620 John Paul Jones Circle
Portsmouth, VA 23708
Work: 757-953-6745
Fax: 757-953-6081
E-mail: badexter@mar.med.navy.mil
or: DrDexter@gimail.af.mil

Marinell Miller Mumford, PhD
Coordinator, PTSD Clinic
100 Emancipation Drive
Hampton, VA 23667
757-722-9961 x 2405
Fax: 757-628-3174
E-mail: marinell.miller@va.gov

Criminal Justice
Susan Mirow, MD PhD
Univ of Utah Sch of Medicine
Dept of Psychiatry
73 G Street
Salt Lake City, UT 84103-2951
E-mail: susanmirow@aol.com

Physical Injury, Chronic Illness and Disability

Diversity and Cultural Competence
Elisa Triffleman, MD
The Public Health Institute
242 Clorinda Ave.
San Rafael, CA 94901
E-mail: elisatriffleman@earthlink.net

Carolyn J. Green, PhD
National Center for PTSD
3375 Koapaka St.
Suite I-560
Honolulu, HI 96819
E-mail: carolyninhawaii@aol.com

Diversity SIG Web page

 

Physiology, Pharmacotherapy and Neuroscience

PPN Web page

Early Intervention
Josef I. Ruzek, PhD
National Center for PTSD
VA Palo Alto Health Care System
795 Willow Road
Menlo Park, CA 94025
Phone: 650-493-5000
E-mail: josef.ruzek@va.gov

Patricia Watson, PhD
National Center for PTSD
VA Medical & Regional Office Ctr
White River Junction, VT 05009
E-mail: patricia.j.watson@dartmouth.edu

New! Early Interventions SIG Web page

Primary Care and Trauma
David Eisenman
UCLA School of Medicine
911 Broxton Plaza
Los Angeles, CA 90024
Phone: 310-794-2452
Fax: 310-794-0732
E-mail: deisenman@mednet.ucla.edu

Family Systems Approaches to Trauma
Briana S. Nelson Goff, PhD   
School of Family Studies and Human Services
Marriage and Family Therapy Program
Kansas State University
322 Justin Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506-1403
Phone: 785-532-1490
Fax: 785-532-5505
E-mail: bnelson@ksu.edu

Laurel J. Kiser, Ph.D., MBA
Department of Psychiatry
University of Maryland School of Medicine
737 W Lombard St., Rm 500
Baltimore, MD 21210
Ph: 410-706-2490
Fax: 410-706-0022
E-mail: lkiser@psych.umaryland.edu

    

Family Systems SIG Web page

Psychodynamic Research & Practice SIG
Lutz Wittmann, PhD
Psychiatric Department
University Hospital Zurich
Culmannstrasse 8
CH 8091 Zurich
Switzerland
Phone: 0041 (0)44 255 34 09
Fax: 0041 (0)44 255 44 08
lutz.wittmann@usz.ch

New! Psychodynamic Research and Practice SIG Web page

Gender & Trauma
Rachel Kimerling, PhD
National Center for PTSD
VA Palo Alto Health Care System
795 Willow Road (352-117MPD)
Menlo Park, CA 94025
Work: 650-493-5000 ext. 23218
Fax: 650-617-2684
E-mail: rachel.kimerling@va.gov

Dawne Vogt, PhD
Boston VA Health Care System
National Center for PTSD (116B-5)
150 S Huntington Ave.
Boston, MA 02130
Phone: 617-232-9500
Fax: 617-264-6520
E-mail: dsvogt@hotmail.com

Gender & Trauma SIG Web page

Research Methodology
Dean Lauterbach
Associate Professor
Eastern Michigan University
Dept. of Psychology
507 Mark Jefferson Hall
Ypsilanti, MI 48197
Work: 734-487-0785
Fax: 734-487-6553
E-mail: dlauterba@emich.edu

Patrick A. Palmieri, PhD
Summa Health System
Ambulatory Building 4th Floor
444 N. Main St.
Akron, OH 44310
Work: 330-379-9081
Fax: 330-379-5095
E-mail: palmierp@summa-health.org

New!Research Methodology SIG Web page

Human Rights & Social Policy
Leilani Kuuipo Ordway
3628 Old Colony Rd
Kalamazoo, MI 49008
Work:   (269) 966-5600
Fax:   (269) 385-5811
E-mail:   weinotbelle@aol.com

Rouguiatou Diallo, M.Sc
10341 Bushman Dr
Oakton, VA 22124
Work:   (202) 884-8461
E-mail:   rouguiatoud@yahoo.com

Spirituality
Carole Goguen, PsyD
Department of Veterans Affairs
LAACC Mental Health (116B)
351 E. Temple St.
Los Angeles, CA 90012
Phone: 626-483-3896
E-mail: carolegoguen@yahoo.com

Kent D. Drescher, PhD
Health Science Specialist
Palo Alto VA Health Care System
National Center for PTSD
795 Willow Road 352-117
Menlo Park, CA 94025
Phone: 650-493-5000, Ext. 22071
Fax: 650-617-2686
E-mail: kent.drescher@va.gov

Spirituality SIG Web page

Intergenerational Transmission of Trauma and Resilience
Diane Elmore, PhD, MPH
Senior Legislative and Federal Affairs Officer
Public Policy Office
American Psychological Association
750 First St., NE
Washington, DC 20002-4242
Phone: 202-336-6104
Fax: 202-336-6063
E-mail: delmore@apa.org

Mary Armsworth, PhD
Associate Professor
University of Houston
491 Farish Hall
Houston, TX 77204-5029
Work: 713-743-9815
E-mail: armsworth@uh.edu

Andrei Novac, MD
University of California Irvine
400 Newport Center Drive, Suite 309
Newport Beach, CA 92660-7601
E-mail: anovac@uci.edu


Terrorism and Bioterrorism
Related Trauma

Virginia Sprang, PhD, Chair
University of Kentucky
657 Patterson Office Tower
Lexington, KY 40515
Phone: 859-257-2743
Fax: 859-543-1121
E-mail: sprang@uky.edu

James J. Clark, Co-Chair
Associate Professor
University of Kentucky
CATS Project
3470 Blazer Parkway
Lexington, KY 40509
Phone: 859-543-0078
E-mail: jjclark00@uky.edu

Terrorism and Bioterrorism Related Trauma Web page

Internet & Technology
Charles Figley, PhD
Tulane University
871 Topaz Street
New Orleans, LA 70124
E-mail: figley@tulane.edu

New! Internet & Technology Web page

Trauma Assessment and Diagnosis
James Naifeh, PhD
Uniformed Svcs Univ of the Health Sciences
4301 Jones Bridge Rd
Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone: 301-295-2470
E-mail: james.naifeh@gmail.com

Richard Monroe, PhD
Edward Hines Jr. VA Hospital
5000 S. 5th Ave 116B
Hines, IL 60622
Phone: 708-202-4750
E-mail: J.Richard.Monroe@va.gov




New! Trauma Assessment and Diagnosis Web page

 


Traumatic Loss and Complicated Grief
Kathleen Nader, DSW
2809 Rathlin Dr
Cedar Park, TX 78613
Work: 512-219-9446
E-mail: drknader.2suns@earthlink.net

New!Traumatic Loss SIG Web page