International Society for Traumatic Stress Studies

Committees and Task Forces


Executive Committee

View full descriptionHide full description

Responsibilities:  The Committee is responsible for

  • Making decisions about the-day-to-day operations of the Society
  • Acting as liaisons to the committee chairs (EC members are assigned committee relevant to their particular responsibilities)
  • Assigning and collaborating with committee chairs ongoing responsibilities regarding immediate, short and long term projects 
  • Engaging in and guiding the board in self-evaluation of the board
  • Taking action based on previously established policy advisory to President
  • Deliberating as a microcosm of the entire board towards development of policy (an in particular, as represented in the function of each of the members of the committee)
  • Functioning in accordance with the Bylaws
  • Providing minutes of Executive Committee Meetings to Board within three weeks

Composition & Designated Members: The committee is chaired by the ISTSS President. The Executive Committee is comprised of the President, Vice-President, Treasurer, Secretary, President Elect, immediate Past-President and Executive Director.  Each position is associated with certain areas of responsibilities that are consistent with and support the society’s strategic goals (established in December 2010). Their roles are as follows:

  • President: To support organizational excellence through engagement of ISTSS membership and development of new leadership
  • Vice President: To identify mechanisms to increase sense of professional home and to support collaboration and effective exchange of knowledge
  • President-Elect: To promote communication and exchange of knowledge within and beyond ISTSS through development in new media and communication technology
  • Secretary: To promote advancement of societal impact through influence on policy activities and strengthening relationships to other organizations
  • Treasurer: To protect and increase the Society’s resources
  • Past-President: To guide development of an organizational model that is responsive to issues, members and stakeholders from all nations
  • Executive Director: To monitor and support the implementation and timely completion of projects and committee work related to the realization of the strategic goals.  

Authority (including limitations): The Committee has the authority to make day-to-day operational decisions, consistent with the power vested in them in the By-Laws. The committee cannot make decisions that would counter the power invested in them in the bylaws. 

Society policies impacting function: It is the responsibility of the executive committee to ensure that decisions regarding new initiatives and regular business and other activities related to the use of financial, staff and member resources are consistent with the ISTSS strategic goals.

Interactions with other committees: Each member of the EC is a liaison to the committees related to the positions area of oversight. 

For the 2012-2013 year, these are:

  • President: Executive Committee, Board of Directors, Program Committee, Ombudsperson, Data Infrastructure, Annual Meeting Committee, American Psychological Association. Div. 56, ISSTD, Dart Center, IVAT and NPEIV
  • Vice President: Global Project Team, Global Collaboration, Global Meetings Committee, United Nations Representatives, Coalition for the International Court, International Structure & Affiliations Committee
  • Treasurer: Audit Committee, Finance Committee, Student Grants Committee, Travel Grants Committee
  • Secretary: Special Interest Groups (SIGs), Awards Committee, Student Section, Diversity Committee, Membership Committee, Volunteer Coordination Task Force
  • Past President: Nominations Committee, Distance Education Committee, JTS Editor, StressPoints Editor, Past President’s Council, History of ISTSS Task Force
  • Vice President: Public Policy Committee, Web site Editor, Public Education Committee, Social Networking Administrator, Leadership Development Task Force

Job products: Minutes of meetings 

Staff resources available (from Sherwood scope of work): Sherwood staff will send out monthly reminders preceding the EC call which will include time, day and agenda. The Executive Director will in collaboration with the President develop the agenda for the meeting. Sherwood staff will organize and circulate background materials for the conference. Sherwood staff will take minutes of the meeting for the review of the Secretary and circulated the completed minutes to the board.

Financial and other resources available: Financial support for monthly calls and Sherwood staff to organize the calls, the agenda and materials for the agenda

Description of operations/processes: EC members receive and report on progress, problems, requests of members related to their area of oversight. Decisions are made via votes on proposed motions.


Diane Elmore Borbon - President
UCLA-Duke University National Center for Child Traumatic Stress
Ananda Amstadter - Vice President
Virginia Commonwealth Univ
Amy Street - Treasurer
VA Boston Healthcare System
Carolina Salgado - Secretary
Meaghan L. O'Donnell - Past-President
Phoenix Australia
Julian D. Ford - President-Elect
Univ of Connecticut Health Center