International Society for Traumatic Stress Studies
ISTSS 31st Annual Meeting | November 5-7, 2015 | Pre-Meeting Institutes, Nov 4, 2015 | New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

Call for Award Nominations

Each year ISTSS recognizes achievements of its members and others dedicated to the field of traumatic stress studies through its awards program. The 2015 Awards Committee, chaired by Charles Benight, PhD, seeks nominations for this year's awards, which highlight the commitment of students and professionals in research, clinical/patient care settings, media and advocacy. Together these awards celebrate the efforts of those who work to advance the understanding of trauma and its effects.

Nominations should include three documents: the ISTSS Award Nomination Form, a one-page statement summarizing the major achievements of the nominee, and the nominee's summarized curriculum vitae. Send information as a Word document attachment in an e-mail to Dr. Benight.  Be sure to state the award for which your nominee should be considered.

The deadline for nominations is June 2, 2015, close of business. The society will recognize award winners at the ISTSS 31st Annual Meeting, November 5-7, 2015 at the New Orleans Marriott, New Orleans, Louisiana, USA.   

Lifetime Achievement Award
This award is the highest honor given by ISTSS. It is awarded to the individual who has made great lifetime contributions to the field of traumatic stress.

Chaim and Bela Danieli Young Professional Award
This award recognizes excellence in the traumatic stress field by an individual who has completed his or her training within the last five years. Please note the critiera for this award have been updated as of 2011.

For men or women with primary childcare responsibilities, one year per child can be added up to an eight-year limit post training. For example, an individual who completed his or her post-doctoral fellowship in 2007 and has two children would be eligible until 2014. The traumatic stress field may include research, clinical work, advocacy, policy, clergy or media. The definition of training includes clinical internship, post-doctoral training and medical residency

Robert S. Laufer Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievement
This award is given to an individual or group who has made an outstanding contribution to research in the traumatic stress field.

Sarah Haley Memorial Award for Clinical Excellence
This award is given to a clinician or group of clinicians in direct service to traumatized individuals. This written and/or verbal communication to the field must exemplify the work of Sarah Haley.

Public Advocacy Award
This award is given for outstanding and fundamental contributions to advancing social understanding of trauma.

Frank Ochberg Award for Media and Trauma Study
This award recognizes significant contributions by clinicians and researchers on the relationship of media and trauma.

Email Nominations to:
Charles Benight, PhD